Reviews / Press

Guest Reviews

Had a wonderful family holiday in this beautiful house. Everything that one could need......and more! Highly recommended

Roy Anderson, 1st September 2017

We have had a marvellous August week in An Cos with our families from Spain. Everything in the house was beautifully arranged and Fiona had kindly unpacked our Tesco order before we arrived and had left us a tasty surprise. We have holidayed regularly in Shieldaig but this was a special family celebration. Thank you.

Binns Family, 18th to 25th August 2017

What an amazing house, the quality of the finish is superb, it really is a beautiful family home rather than a holiday let. The location is equally stunning, with views out over Loch Shieldaig and easy access to the Torridon mountains. There were 8 of us and we enjoyed kayaking with the seals on Loch Shieldaig, a great hike up Beinn Alligin and a relaxing boat trip with Torridon Sea Tours. We cycled from the door of An Cos to tackle the infamous Bealach na Bà pass over to Applecross then back round the coast – a fantastic ride on quiet single track roads the whole way, an absolute must for any keen cyclist. You could spend weeks based here and find plenty to fill your time and always know you had an amazingly comfortable house to return to. The best holiday home we have ever stayed in and we were made very welcome by Fiona and Chrissy, a big thanks to both for helping make this a very memorable holiday. The McMillan family (Newcastle & Oxford)

David McMillan, 28th Jul - 4th Aug

We had a splendid week! An Cos has a marvelous location, has all current modern comfort still with a local charm. Surroundings and village is unique. Thanks to Chrissy and Fiona for all the polite and friendly arrangements. We will definitely consider this for another visit!

Lidstrom Family (Sweden), 7/7-14/7, 2017

Our recent stay at An Cos was wonderful and I can thoroughly recommend it, Shieldaig and the surrounding area. We were 10 in total - a family group with an age range of 5-75 years and found the house more than met everyone's needs. The house is built to a very high specification and is beautifully furnished and well equipped. The view over Shieldaig and bay is quite stunning. Fiona Moyes the house manager was extremely friendly and helpful. We're already planning another visit and in the meantime we're cherishing the memories of our time at An Cos.

kirsten De Vos, 26.5.17 - 2.6.17

A beautiful house with all the amenities. Excellent location with many beautiful walks & drives to see the sights. Great boat trip round the local lochs. Best place we have stayed in Scotland.

Alan & Lorraine Pratt, 28 April 2017

What a lovely place for the family to come together. The house was stunning and made for a very relaxing holiday. We really appreciated all the finishing touches and the extremely well equipped kitchen. We are already planning our next trip.

Ann Allan, Easter 2017

Our first visit to An Cos has heightened absolutely our usual sense of relaxation when we make our annual Easter trip to the North West Coast. Aside from the stunning location, the inspiring views, and the fresh, warm welcome from all in Shieldaig, your northern home is an absolute treasure. In what is obviously the most thoughtful of architectural designs, accompanied by a fabulously engaging interior design, you have undoubtedly created something unique, and something which will stand the test of time. In short, we think it is perfection. So many thanks.

Alan & Anna Gilchrist, 7 - 14 April 2017

An Cos was exactly as described right from the greeting by Fiona to the excellent facilities available in the house. The house swallowed 8 of us easily with plenty of space to stretch out and do separate things. The kitchen is big enough and well equipped for multiple cooks.The view over the loch to the village made watching the sea eagles, seals and the comings and goings of visitors very easy. A week of outstanding weather made walking in the Torridon hills a real pleasure followed by a bit of sunbathing in the garden or a stroll down to the pub. The local Sheildaig Bar has good beers and excellent local food. We can also recommend Torridon Sea Tours for a cruise out to Red Point. A visit to Applecross Inn is essential for seafood but you need to book. We'd recommend An Cos for a group looking for luxury in the highlands and are already planning a return visit.

Stephen Turner, 28th April 2017 to 5 May 2017

Our first stay here but the house and the surrounding country absolutely exceeded our expectations.

Burdett party, 21-28 October 2016

Our annual trip to An Cos proved to be as restful as ever. Three munros were climbed, books were read and we all relaxed. We look forward to our next trip.

Macgregor family, 14 - 21 October 2016

Tony Inglis, 28 Oct to 4th Nov 2016

An Cos Shieldaig is Heaven on Earth! Everything has been so well thought out with guests' comfort being the only priority. The kitchen is superbly equipped, the lounge with blazing log fire is gorgeous and the bedrooms are fabulous! Everything has been done with such style and good taste and it is all in immaculate condition. The house is in a stunning location with amazing views over the Loch. The walks are breathtaking and we drove through beautiful countryside to some amazing places. I am running out of superlatives (!) but I really can't praise An Cos Shieldaig enough - it is sublime!

Caroline Mant, September/October 2016

It has all been said about the house and the surrounding countryside. I will not argue with a single word. Superb house in a Superb location.

Lindsay MCCallum, 26th Aug to 2nd Sept

An Cos is superb - setting,views,design,fit out,maintenance,cleanliness,welcome. I have stayed in many holiday homes over many years. In short, this is in a class of its own.

John Westwell, 22/7/16 -29/7/16

8-15th July '16 Sitting proudly on a hill overlooking the most beautiful loch in Shieldaig sits an exceptionaly beautiful house known as An Cos. A house that is maintained to the highest of standards with the most beautiful of furnishings, we wanted for nothing! Fiona the house manager greeted us with the most joyous of welcomes. Fionas tour of hhe house and how things worked along with tips and hints on where to eat along with an insight of what was on offer on Shieldaigs doorstep. I have to go back to the house again and mention the steam room...wow! And not to forget the welcoming traditional food that was awaiting us! Homemade scones, local smoked salmon and fruit cake., beautiful. Will we go back ? Oh yes , who wouldn't after sampling such beautiful delights. The house is a must and was the icing on the cake in the most beautiful of surroundings. Thank you, The Torbet family.

Isobel Torbet, 8th-15th July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday in this truly luxurious house! We have stayed in many lovely houses in the highlands over the years but this one would be hard to beat. From the luxurious decor and furnishings, to the immense attention to every tiny detail. It was too hot to use the steam room, but we did need the parasol! What an amazing place.

Peter Bell, 6 May 2016

We have had a fab week celebrating our 50th birthdays. Can't believe we're 50 but all helped by such a fantastic house in such fantastic surroundings! We've had a great time.

Jo Lea & guests, 1st April

5 weeks at An Cos again!! It was great. It feels like home.

Nicola & Heiko Indorf, 6 Feb 2016

Another wonderful week. The house is superb and perfect for running our workshops. Saskia particularly appreciates the great kitchen. We can't wait to come back next year. Fab house!! Love it.

David Ward, 17 - 23 Jan 2016

Our second visit to An Cos did not disappoint. Breathtaking scenery and lots to see and do. We appreciated the tea tray and homemade cakes after the drive from Oxford. Hope to be back next year.

Wellesley, Harris & Abbott families, 31 October 2015

Fantastic location. We were fortunate to have lovely weather, walks around Loch Clare and Balgy. Lots of lovely cafes and lots to see. Thank you to Fiona for the warm welcome and organising the scallops!

Hannon & Tidmarsh families, 24 - 31 Oct 2015

What a perfect place and amazing house. We had the perfect time with our family flying in from Germany, US and Belgium. Loved the steam bath after swimming in the sea. Relaxing here the week before THE CELTMAN helped me to be in top shape for the race. Hope to be back next year.

Dirk Zangen, 28 June 2105

Fantastic two weeks with the family, we all loved the house and especially the ever changing view. Saw sea eagles, otters and seals from the window on our first day! We have been very lucky with the weather and even managed a swim in the sea.

The Whitham family, 14 - 28 August 2105

What a lovely time! I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our time, the house and the surroundings. We are going to rave about our holidays for years to come, one of the best holidays I have had. The place was magnificent and your house was simply perfect. Thanks so very much for making us your guests.

Leleu-Eponville & family, 14 August 2015

An Cos has been the most marvellous venue for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The house is exceptional, in its location and facilities - its such a lovely, spacious place to spend one's holiday. We have loved our time here. Definitely a place we'd love to return to - we love it here!

Hay & Bingham families, 24-31 July 15

Our second visit to An Cos was even better than our first. We spent 3 days on beaches, cycled lots, walked, saw sea eagles, seals and a porpoise. We ate fresh langoustines and prepared nice meals in the fully functioning kitchen. The views are to die for.We hope to go back for a third visit.

David Pearson, 4th -11th September 2015

What a perfect match! the stunning nature of Wester Ross and An Cos house. Travelling the Scotish highlangs since the mid '90s we knew in which area we wanted to stay. And with An Cos house we found the best modern holiday home we have rented so far just there. The house is just clever layed out and decorated and fitted to an very high standard. A kitchen with loch view, a refreshing steam room, a cosy living room .... We enjoyed two relaxing weeks, walking some additional Munros, fishing some trouts, gazing at the loch watching a stunning sunset just down Loch Torrdion, perfect. We will be back

Matthias Beutin & Friends, 03.- 17. July 2015

Our extended family had a brilliant week in An Cos despite dismal weather. The surrounding landscape is magnificent even in the rain! And what a house to hang out in when its wet! Very luxurious but practical, a rare combination. Chrissy and her family have done an amazing job with this house.

The Brookers, 29/5-5/06/2015

What a fantastic house in a stunning location! We had a great time. 8 of us in total but still felt that we had plenty of room in the house and everything was catered for. Great area to explore. We loved the walk at the back of the house and had a BBQ on the beach. Also stunning scenery along the road to Diabaig with a nice lunch in the Gille Brighde at the end. Would also recommend the Bealach nam Bo road and drive around the Applecross Peninsula, but take your time! To top it all though, we were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights on our last night - stunning!!

James Leslie, 10th April 2015

A magical short break in a beautiful house with some of the most splendid scenery I have come across anywhere.

David Newton, 17 - 20 November 2014

A wonderful holiday in a fantastic house in a spectacular location. Breathtaking views, lots of fun, lots of memories that will last forever. Hopefully we'll be back for another relaxing week.

Kevin Rattray, 27 June - 4 July 2014

We had a week of Mediterranean weather and a number of our party are treating sunburn! Highlights: the live band at the local pub; the summer fair where we were made extremely welcome by the locals; Gairloch and the various boat trips; pub lunch at the Applecross Inn; a day trip to Skye incorporating the Talisker Distillery; walks behind the house - outstanding views; Inverewe Gardens. The house itself is high-spec and exceeded our expectations.

Hines family, 4 - 11 July 2014

This is a wonderful house in a beautiful location. We had a great holiday and passed a very memorable Silver Wedding Anniversary here. Best bit: Torridon Sea Tour with Gemma and her father Kenny - seeing so many dolphins was just amazing! Would love to come back again.

Dabjen family, 11 - 18 July 2014

We had a fantastic week here with the extended family. Loved the house - so practical with everything thought of. The highlight was the Silver Wedding Anniversary but other memorable things were Applecross walled garden, mountain walks and Dad (aged 85) and I playing golf at Gairloch golf club where they invite any non-members to join club members on Tuesday mornings. They were extremely welcoming as was everyone in Shieldaig village.

Jean Short (Dabjen family), 11 - 18 July 2014

A lovely house in a special location. We enjoyed superb weather in the first week and have explored he area. Highlights include our boat trip to Rona and the merriment of the Applecross Highland Games. Many happy memories and we all appreciated the relaxing environment at An Cos.

Palmer family, 18 - 31 July 2014

This has been, quite simply, the greatest escape. An Cos is a beautiful home, the Scottish highlands are breathtaking and little touches like leaving homemade scones and having such well-stocked bookshelves were just cherries on the cake. We have seen eagles, seals, porpoises, cormorants, oyster catchers, a skua, highland cattle and herds of deer, all of which have firmly secured a love of this area and a desire to further explore Scotland. Within only a week we have been able to leave behind the stresses of everyday life and fully emerse ourselves in this spectacular haven. Thank you for enabling this and for giving us such great memories.

Butterworth & Bathe families, 1 - 7 August 2014

Fantastic surroundings indoors & out and the perfect setting for fun with family and friends! Gorge scrambling, local coastal walks, highland pass drives and the Torridon sea tour have all made for a spectacular holiday. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us.

Hodgkiss party, 8 - 14 August

A seriously damp week on the weather front, but another happy and fun week at gorgeous An Cos. This is still a truly beautiful area, even in lashing rain and gales. And a gorgeous house to return to at the end of wet walks was a joy.

Menzies family, 15 - 21 August 2014

Our first and definitely not our last stay at the beautiful An Cos. Stunning views and even though it rained 90% of the time it was still a lovely holiday.

Hillcoat family, 15 - 21 August 2014

Taylor family, 22 - 28 August 2014

As all previous visitors - superlatives abound. Thank you Chrissy - your house is beautiful. We have had a truly wonderful week and were blessed with fab weather too - such a bonus. Eaten and drunk like Lords and all got to the summit of Beinn Eighe! Hope we shall return.

Matchett family, 5 - 11 September 2014

What a wonderful week we've had. We've spent hours just appreciating the views, totally captivated by the loch. We loved the cosy fire and the welcome tea was such a delicious and welcome treat on our arrival. Fiona was lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We ate locally in the pub in the village, Applecross and the Torridon Inn. See you again soon An Cos, we'll miss you.

Appleby group, 25 - 31 October 2014

Fabulous family get-together in our favourite place, NW Highlands of Scotland. An Cos is a beautiful, perfectly equipped and exceptionally comfortable house. And, of course, the weather was very kind to us, as it so often is when we visit this beautiful place.

Merri Hall, Startley, Wiltshire, 23 - 30 May 2014

We returned to An Cos for our second stay and it felt like we had come home. The weather wasn't kind to us but it really didn't matter because the house is so comfortable and welcoming. We love the house and the location and we will be back again I'm sure.

Louise Macgregor, 4-11 April

We had a beautiful couple of days at An Cos in March when there was glorious sunshine. When we walked into the house we immedialtey felt at home and very special! The decor, finishing touches and attention to detail are all perfect. The house is fabulous and I imagine magical at Christmas! The views are also breathtaking. We didnt want to leave!

Ann-Marie & Colin Atkins, 09/03/2014

An Cos really has the Wow factor! A luxurious homely house in a really spectacular location.

The Spruce Family, Feb 2014

Your house is absolutely wonderful. We all loved it. Sea eagles circling the island a highlight. Skimming competitions and mountain tops loved by all. Very friendly locals and great pub! Went to Gillian the artist at Kishorn and bought a couple of paintings, they will remind us of a wonderful holiday!

J Ridgway-Tait, Dec 2013

We had a really amazing honeymoon week here. The house is so luxurious and comfortable and the place is really beautiful. We got in some lovely walks in between the blizzards, rain and 100mph winds! The steam room and fires were a wonderful way to bear up after facing the elements. We had a fabulous time and would love to return at some point.

Rosie and Will McEwan, Dec 2013

Mark Anderson, 11-18 October 2013

Very few places just take your breath away. An Cos Shieldaig is one. If you want to be truly alive go there and you will feel and love the energy of this amazing Highland house! An Cos - 'The Hollow' is the catalyst for a magical alchemy, bringing together fun and frolicks, love and laughter! A special time in the best surroundings - indoors and outdoors - guaranteed! Many thanks. Fab.

Farren Drury, Sep 13

Well it does not get much better than this. Fabulous house with all the modern luxury you would expect in a high end hotel. The setting is beyond belief. It's a microclimate so no umbrella needed for us and the drive over to Applecross for lunch on the highest road in GB was stunning. I'm a Cornishman but frankly it's going to be Scotland from now on. Plenty to do and lots of fun and relaxation.

Simon Maine-Tucker, September 2013

Berry, Aug 2013

Magnificent house in a magical place!

Clark, Aug 2013

Geddes family, Sep 2013

Griffiths/Cuming, July 2013

We had the most perfectly relaxed week in An Cos. The house is peaceful and luxurious, making you leave all stresses behind. The surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful - conquering Ben Shieldaig is highly recommended. Roll on next year!

Rob Chapman, May 2013

We spent a splendid - and warm and sunny - week in this wonderful and very comfortable house. It is a paradise for people who love silence, good taste, beautiful interiors, space and outstanding beds! This is a great place!

Inglis-Cauchie, 19 July 2013

We have stayed in many Scottish holiday homes over the years, and we all agree An Cos has been the best! From Fiona's friendly welcome to the superbly equipped kitchen, it's been a great week. Friendly locals too: Gerry organised a box of prawns for us.

Newman, June 2013

We absolutely loved our holiday in Shieldaig. The house is fabulous and the weather was perfect all week. We are already thinking about making another booking for next Easter.

Macgregor, March 2013

The house is wonderful and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The welcome pack was excellent and much appreciated.

Carter, April 2013

We had a fantastic week in the house, blazing sunshine one day to blizzards the next but enjoyed all of it. What a wonderful place.

Gregory, April 2013

Click here to leave your own review of An Cos

Press Reviews

highland holiday cottage

“Sleepy Hollow”

Scotsman Magazine, January 2013

“…the ultimate Highland dream…”

Read more about An Cos in The Scotsman Magazine.